Related Posts

Share This








Following his recent UK tour and ‘Swine & Punishment’ remix album, PIG aka Raymond Watts, 

the Infidel of industrial rock, returns to feed, foul and further his reputation with a brand new

EP, ‘Prey & Obey’. 

This will stick to your insides harder than guilt, sin, lard or gin.

The title track reunites Watts with Marc Heal and Phil Barry of Cubanate infamy. You will be

happily singing along with Watts as he wails and rails from his lowly pulpit on what is sure to 

become another anthem for the dispossessed from The Lord of Lard.

Next up is ‘The Revelation’, co-written with Ben Christo, long serving guitarist with The Sisters

Of Mercy, who has been given a new leash of life in lard and plays all the guitars on this new

release. As the rampaging refrain repeats with its resonating ring of ’truth is sin’, Watts 

seems to be giving us a lesson in what constitutes ‘barnstorming’.

’The Cult Of Chaos’ sets a more tranquil mood. Penned with Z.Marr (formerly of those

paragons of moral virtue Combichrist), it almost takes the form of a breather, or is it a last 

gasp? And here we can hear another facet and faucet of the endlessly undefinable PIG….

sweet, sour, symphonically sordid and sometimes sick….it’s all here for your delectation,

disgust and delight.

A video of the title track directed by Gabriel Edvy can be seen here :  http://bit.ly/2ruLrY0




1  Prey & Obey

2  The Revelation

3  The Cult Of Chaos

4  Prey & Obey (Leatherstrip Remix)

5  The Revelation (Z.Marr Electronic Mix)

6  Prey & Obey (En Esch Mix) 



In 1986 Raymond Watts awoke in West Berlin. It was a time of terror and turmoil, in a city so 

depraved and decadent that the East Germans had walled it in. Watts had cut his teeth on

tape loops in London and Hamburg, but inspired by Berlin’s fetid air and his first 8-bit sampler, 

he gave birth to PIG in 1988. A year earlier, in Hamburg, he had written and recorded the first

KMFDM album and single with En Esch and Sascha Konietzko. He had also helped deliver the

sonic slaughter of Einsturzende Neubauten, Psychic TV, Die Haut and most of the Berlin and

Hamburg underground, as both live and studio sound engineer and producer.

PIG was cut from the belly of Watts with a rusty screwdriver in a basement opposite The Wall. 

The first squeals were committed to tape and saw the light of day as ‘A Poke in the Eye’, which 

was released by the ultra-hip US label Wax Trax!. After writing the music for the second KMFDM 

album, Watts then slipped away to tour with Foetus, playing keyboards and guitar. He returned

to Berlin to produce (with Jim Thirlwell aka Foetus), the classic PIG 12”, ‘Sick City’. Under the

name 2 Kut he also made a series of 12”s that featured the likes of Blixa Bargeld and Thirlwell.

When The Wall collapsed, the party was over. Watts returned to London and PIG albums poured 

forth: ‘Praise The Lard’, ‘A Stroll In The Pork’, ‘Shit For Brains’, ‘Red Raw & Sore’, ‘The Swining’.

Watts programmed, produced and performed, ploughing a lone furrow until Karl Hyde, singer

and sinner with Underworld, came to his assistance on guitars.

By this time, Watts had also developed a taste for all things Japanese. His label was based there, 

his morals were parked there and PIG had toured there many times. He was soon involved with 

bunch of ne’er-do-wells called Schaft. An album, ‘Switchblade’, and a sold-out tour followed.

In 1994, PIG opened for NIN. This led to the next PIG album, ‘Sinsation’, being released on 

Trent Reznor’s Nothing label….and then a return to Wax Trax! for ‘Wrecked’. Watts also rejoined

KMFDM for the PIG v KMFDM EP ‘Sin, Sex & Salvation’. For an ensuing album Nihil Watts took

over writing and vocal duties, spawning ‘Juke Joint Jezebel’, a crossover industrial dance hit.

Multiple remixes by Giorgio Moroder took the single to a new audience and sold-out tours, with

Watts orchestrating the chaos like a rampant ringmaster armed only with talent and tequila.

When not on tour, Watts could be found in his Ranch Apocalypse studio in London, working on 

‘No One Gets Out of Her Alive’, ‘Prime Evil’, ‘Disrupt Degrade & Devastate’ plus a KMFDM album, 

‘Symbols’. For the PIG album ‘Genuine American Monster’, Watts reunited with Guenter Schulz.

While in Toyko, Watts gave birth to the band Schwein with Sascha Konietzko and Japanese stars 

Sakurai and Imai. The albums ‘Schweinstein’ / ‘Son Of Schweinstein’ and a sold-out tour ensued.

After releasing the PIG album ‘Pigmartyr’ (‘Pigmata’ on Metropolis), Watts spent time in London 

indoctrinating his piglets and initiating them into the parish of the pork. When not leading his children

down the path of righteousness, he could be found writing music for fashion and films for the likes of

Alexander McQueen, Chloe, Marios Schwab, Halston and The Row. He also wrote music and did the

sound design for ‘Punk: Chaos to Couture’, an exhibition at the Met in New York.

In the final show before his death, Alexander McQueen commissioned Watts and John Gosling, 

Watts’ old partner-in-crime from Psychic TV days, to embellish the serene instrumental track ‘Inside’, 

from ‘Genuine American Monster’. This became the fluid soundtrack to what is seen as

McQueen’s masterpiece, ‘Plato’s Atlantis’. This show was reprised as the finale of ‘Savage Beauty’,

the McQueen retrospective that broke all records at the Met in New York and the V&A in London.

Watts also wrote other original music and did the sound design for this show.

In 2015, PIG dipped his trotter in the trough once more, releasing both the much lauded PIG v 

Primitive Race EP ‘Long In The Tooth’, and the ‘Compound Eye Sessions: PIG v MC Lord of the Flies’

(aka Marc Heal, of Cubanate). The Primitive Race collaboration brought together Watts and

Mark Thwaite (of The Mission, Tricky and Peter Murphy fame). Together they set about writing what

would become the main column of misery around which the current PIG album, ’The Gospel’, was built. 

Watts’ newest partner in swine, Z.Marr (ex-Combichrist), shared production and writing duties. 

‘The Gospel’ contained 12 songs of ruin, redemption, resolution and resurrection. This tale of grime and

punishment also saw En Esch and Guenter Schulz leave their unmistakable trail of greasy fingerprints.

May 2017 saw the release of ’Swine & Punishment’. A companion remix album to ’The Gospel’, it 

included re-workings of its contents from Oumi Kapila, Skold, Marc Heal, Android Lust, Kanga,

London After Midnight, Indradevi, Mortiis, Chris Vrenna, Pull Out Kings, Inertia, Joe Haze and more.